User management in Dropbox DocSend
In this article
The information in this article applies to admins and owners on DocSend Personal, Standard, Advanced, and Advanced Data Rooms plans.
User management is critical for keeping your documents secure and your billing up to date. DocSend owners and admins can visit the Company settings page to add new users, remove existing users, and manage account access.
Before getting started, keep the following in mind:
- Adding new users may result in additional charges depending on your plan (see our pricing page for details).
- DocSend uses an invitation system. Invited users will receive an email with a link to join your team.
- Note: Invite limits may vary for new users and increase over time. If you need higher limits, contact support. On Advanced Data Rooms plans, you can import email addresses using a CSV file.
- If you have a managed account, contact your Customer Success Manager (CSM) for assistance with adding or removing users.
- If your company uses SSO, your user management experience may differ from the steps outlined below.
Invite a new user
To invite a new user to your team:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the upper right.
- Click Settings.
- Click Company.
- Click Users.
- Click Add users.
- Enter the user’s email address and select a user role for them.
- Note: If you’re adding multiple users, separate each user’s email address with a comma.
- Click Send invite.
To re-invite a user to your team:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the upper right.
- Click Settings.
- Click Company.
- Click Users.
- Click Invited.
- Click
(more options) next to the name of the user you'd like to re-invite. - Click Resend invite.
Deactivate a user
If someone on your team no longer needs access to DocSend, you can easily deactivate the user from the Company settings page.
Important: A prorated credit will be added to your account for any remaining time on the deactivated user’s subscription. Owners can review this on the Billing page.
When a user's account is deactivated:
- The user can no longer log in.
- The user’s links are disabled.
- The user’s team documents are still accessible.
- The user’s historical visitor data is still visible for owners/admins.
- The user is removed from your DocSend subscription.
To avoid losing access to the user’s links and Spaces, admins or owners should transfer ownership to another user when deactivating the user. Admins and owners will see a list of affected links and Spaces before they confirm the deactivation.
To deactivate a user:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the upper right.
- Click Settings.
- Click Company.
- Click Users.
- Click
(more options) next to the name of the user you'd like to deactivate. - Click Deactivate.
- To transfer ownership of the user’s links or Spaces, click Transfer and continue, then click Deactivate and transfer.
- To deactivate without transferring ownership, click Skip, then click Continue.
- If the user doesn’t own any links or Spaces, click Deactivate.
Note: When you transfer ownership of a user’s links or Spaces to another user during the deactivation process, the new owner will receive everything they owned. It’s not possible to transfer specific items. This transfer is permanent and cannot be undone.
Suspend a user
You can suspend a users to prevent them from logging in while keeping their documents and links active.
Note: Suspended users still incur charges on your account since their documents and links are still active and accessible.
When a user's account is suspended:
- The user can no longer log in; a new password is set and can't be reset.
- All of the user’s documents, links, and Spaces remain active.
- The user’s team documents are still accessible.
- The user's historical visitor data is still accessible.
- The user is still part of your DocSend subscription.
To suspend a user:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the upper right.
- Click Settings.
- Click Company.
- Click Users.
- Click
(more options) next to the name of the user you'd like to deactivate. - Click Suspend account.
- Click Yes, suspend to confirm.
- Enter a new password and click Change password.
Note: You may want to deactivate a user and transfer their data into your own account instead of suspending them.
Reactivate a user
You can also reactivate a deactivated or suspended user at any time by following the steps below. If you’ve been deactivated or suspended and need access to DocSend again, please reach out to your company’s owner or admin to help reactivate your DocSend account.
Important: Reactivating a user may mean that you incur new charges and will also reactivate all previously disabled links.
To reactivate a user:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the upper right.
- Click Settings.
- Click Company.
- Click Users.
- Click Inactive.
- Click
(more options) next to the name of the user you'd like to reactivate. - Click Reactivate.
- Click Reactivate to confirm.
Community answers
-
Posted by: Mosscat 30 days ago
151
6
-
Posted by: EnzoBastianello 180 days ago
290
7
-
Posted by: Theresa 400 days ago
784
4
-
Posted by: standard_individual_user 633 days ago
665
3
-
Posted by: cemil t. 4129 days ago
1579
1