How to delete Dropbox Backup
Updated Jan 07, 2026
In this article
This article describes a feature available to customers on all Dropbox plans.
Before deleting a backup, check the following:
- You must have the Dropbox desktop app installed to delete your backup. If you've already uninstalled the desktop app, reinstall the desktop app to delete your backup.
- If you no longer have access to the device, you can delete your backup by unlinking the device from your Dropbox account.
Delete your computer backup or external hard drive backup
To delete your computer or external hard drive backup:
Community answers
-
Posted by: lgeelee 56 days ago
256
10
-
Posted by: Rongal 303 days ago
226
4
-
Posted by: Agiic 418 days ago
249
6
-
Posted by: anwar79 763 days ago
8744
17
-
Posted by: Jun-jun 1121 days ago
692
1