Limit the amount of space a Dropbox team member can use
In this article
The information in this article applies to certain types of admins on Dropbox Standard, Business, Advanced, Business Plus, and Enterprise plans.
Member space limits let admins control how much storage space team members can use.
When a storage limit applies, team members see their individual storage limit instead of the team’s overall storage limit.
Note: Member space limits may not be available if any team member has access to more than 5,000 folders. This can happen on teams with a very large number of shared folders. Teams with a large number of shared folders may experience performance issues.
What happens if a member goes over their storage limit?
Members are notified via email, desktop, and mobile app when they reach:
- 90% of their space limit
- 100% or more of their space limit
Admins are also notified through an email notification, and the event appears in the activity logs.
Dropbox continues to work as normal for members who go over their storage space limit, depending on the syncing setting.
There are three options:
- On (Keep syncing): Dropbox continues to work as normal. Members can continue uploading new files, and they’ll only see an alert that they’re over the limit.
- On (Stop syncing): Dropbox is limited. Members can’t upload new files until they’re back under the limit.
- Off (No limit): Storage limits aren’t enforced.
Dropbox only works fully as normal when On (Keep syncing) is turned on.
What happens to over-quota members on a team with stop sync enabled?
Admins can use stop sync limits to prevent members who exceed their storage limit from using Dropbox as normal. Specifically, two things happen:
- Their account will stop syncing
- They won't be able to upload files
These team members will then have two options:
- Remove files to bring their accounts below the space limit
- Contact their admin to request more storage
Note: Admins don't receive email notifications when a team member reaches their stop sync limit.
How to set a default storage limit for all team members
- Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
- Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
- Under Products, click the dropdown next to Dropbox.
- Click Settings.
- Under Content, scroll to Storage.
- Toggle Member storage limit to On (Keep syncing) or On (Stop syncing).
- Enter a custom limit value in gigabytes using the dropdown next to Storage limit per member.
- The value must be 2 GB or higher.
- Click Save.
Team members with a storage limit see their individual limit instead of the team’s overall storage limit.
Note: Only admins can set a storage limit for team members.
Set custom limits for individual team members
Certain team admins can set custom storage limits for individual members. Not all admin roles have this permission. Only super admins, user management admins, and security admins can set or change storage limits. Billing admins, reporting admins, and content admins can’t change these settings.
These limits apply only to a team member’s own folders and help prevent accidental overages without limiting collaborations. When a custom limit applies, the member sees their custom storage limit instead of the team’s overall storage limit.
Learn more about admin roles and permissions.
Before you begin, make sure Member Storage Limit is set to On (Keep syncing) or On (Stop syncing) in the admin console.
- Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
- Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
- Click Members.
- Select the team member you want to update.
- In the Storage used column, click ☑ (edit).
- Enter a new custom limit.
You can also update a member’s storage limits by selecting the team member in the Members tab and clicking Edit space limit.
Note: The minimum storage limit for an individual team member is 2 GB.
Set exceptions for a team-wide storage limit
You can set a storage limit to the whole team and exempt specific members using an exception list.
- Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
- Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
- Under Products, click the dropdown next to Dropbox.
- Click Settings.
- Under Content, scroll to Storage.
- Toggle Member Storage Limit to On (Keep syncing) or On (Stop syncing).
- Scroll to Exceptions, click Manage.
- Enter the names or email addresses of team members to exclude.
- Click Save.
What counts towards a storage limit?
Files or folders stored in a team member's Dropbox team account count toward their storage limit.
Important:
- Team folders don’t count toward individual storage limits because they’re owned by the team.
- Team folders count toward the team's overall storage usage.
- Shared folders owned by a team member only count toward that team member's storage limit.
- Shared folders owned by a non-team member but shared with a team member count toward that member's storage limit.
- Due to how storage limits are calculated, the sum of an individual team member's usage may differ from the overall team usage.
Community answers
-
Posted by: Neal 402 days ago
743
0
-
Posted by: alithepole 782 days ago
4570
1
-
Posted by: Amy 1973 days ago
2315
0
-
Posted by: rk90 2796 days ago
1444
1
-
Posted by: searchx 2991 days ago
7897
6