How to fix security risks in Dropbox Protect
Admins Updated Jul 29, 2026
In this article
The information in this article applies to Dropbox Protect admins.
From the Protect dashboard, you can fix security risks by adding or removing collaborators, adding or removing links, deleting items, or stopping sharing.
Note: After figuring out how to fix the security risks, you can create alerts and automations with Policies.
How to fix security risks
Individual item
- Log in to Dropbox Protect. Learn more about accessing Protect.
- Hover over any item and click the checkbox next to the item’s name to select it.
- Select how to fix the security risk.
Bulk items
- Log in to Dropbox Protect. Learn more about accessing Protect.
- Apply filters to narrow the list of items, if needed.
- Click the checkbox at the top of the first column to select all visible items.
- If prompted, confirm that you want to select all items that match the filters, even those not visible on the current page. Learn more about how to use filters.
- Select how to fix the security risk.
Follow the steps depending on the fix you want to apply.
Types of fixes:
Add link type:
- Click the Add link type button
- Select the link type you’d like to add
- Select the access type
- Type CONFIRM
- Click Add
Remove link type:
- Click the Remove link type button
- Select the link type you’d like to remove
- Type CONFIRM
- Click Remove
Add collaborator:
- Click the Add collaborator button
- Type a name or an email address
- Type CONFIRM
- Click Add
Remove collaborator:
- Click the Remove collaborator button
- Click A single collaborator or A type of collaborator
- If you clicked:
- A single collaborator: Type a name or an email address
- A type of collaborator: Select a collaborator type
- Type CONFIRM
- Click Remove
Stop sharing:
- Click the Stop sharing button
- Type CONFIRM
- Click Stop sharing
Delete:
- Click the Delete button
- Type CONFIRM
- Click Delete
All changes will be logged in the Action history page, where you can review successes, partial updates, and errors.
Notes: Things to remember when performing bulk actions:
- Some items may not need changes if they already match the requested settings.
- Some items may fail due to access limitations or restricted access.
- Bulk actions can’t be undone. Double-check that your selected criteria matches the action you intend to perform before proceeding.
Community answers
-
Posted by: Mosscat 30 days ago
151
6
-
Posted by: akikola 198 days ago
90
0
-
Posted by: Jack420 259 days ago
2265
38
-
Posted by: Amy 371 days ago
156
0
-
Posted by: Ed 2462 days ago
3327
1