Space (data room) notifications in Dropbox DocSend
In this article
This article describes a feature available on DocSend Standard, Advanced, and Advanced Data Rooms plans.
Overview
Spaces are what we call our virtual data rooms (VDR). Data rooms provide a way to group, organize, and share high volumes of content with others using a single link. The Space (data room) notifications feature allows you to instantly notify your visitors about any changes you make with a customizable email notification. This means you’ll be able to send an update to specific visitors whenever you make changes to your Space.
Requirements
To send Space (data room) notifications, your Space must:
- Have visits associated with at least one link.
- Enable the Require email to view setting on said Space link. Learn more about link settings.
Learn more about the DocSend Advanced Data Rooms plan.
Send Space (data room) notifications manually
Space owners and collaborators can set up and send notifications.
Important: With multiple links, visitors are organized under their respective accounts. Checking the box next to each account name will allow you to update all visitors within that account.
To send Space (data room) notifications:
- Click the vertical ellipsis icon next to Preview.
- Click Send update email under Manage.
- Add an optional message (up to 500 characters).
- When you’re satisfied with your message and list of recipients, click Send.
- Note: If you’re on the Advanced Data Rooms plan, you’ll be able to view when email notifications were sent out in the audit log. The audit log won’t track who receives or opens the email.
- Note: If you’re on the Advanced Data Rooms plan, you’ll be able to view when email notifications were sent out in the audit log. The audit log won’t track who receives or opens the email.
Set up automated Space (data room) notifications
Customers on DocSend Advanced and Advanced Data Rooms can set up automated space notifications to send to visitors whenever new content is added to the Space.
To set up automated notifications:
- Click Spaces in the left sidebar.
- Select the Space you want to automate notifications for.
- Click the vertical ellipsis next to Preview.
- Click Set up notifications under Manage.
- Toggle Automatic notifications from Off to On.
- Customize your Preferences. You can set up notifications for:
- New content and versions: Updates visitors about new content or document versions in the Space.
- New content only: Only updates visitors when new content is added to the Space.
- New versions only: Only updates visitors when there are new versions of a document.
- Toggle New visitor preferences to Opt in if you want new visitors to be automatically opted in to notifications for that Space.
- Select your recipients.
- Click Save.
Now that your automated notifications are set up, your visitors will receive email updates whenever new content is added or version changes are made. Only people with access to the content that’s being changed will be notified. New or updated content will have a badge next to it that says New.
You can view which links visitors are using to access the Space under Recipients.
Note: Visitors opting out of notifications are listed under Opted out of notifications. Visitors can only opt back in through the original email notification.
Stop Space (data room) notifications
Note: The Space Notifications button is disabled if a user has a trial account.
When a visitor unsubscribes from a Space, the next time the sender opens the Space Notifications modal, they won’t be able to select that visitor as a recipient.
- Open the email notification from the Space you want to stop receiving email notifications from.
- Click Click here and the unsubscription notification page will open.
Visitor experience
Once your notification is sent, your chosen recipients will receive an email from DocSend notifying them that the Space (data room) has been updated, along with your message, and a link to your newly updated Space.
Note: Automated email notifications don’t provide the option to customize your messages.
Replies
When a visitor replies to the notification, their message will be sent to the Space notification sender’s email inbox (outside of DocSend). Please note, only the DocSend user who sent the notification will receive this reply.
Things to consider
- Space (data room) notifications aren’t tracked within DocSend at this time.
- Space notifications are currently only available through paid subscriptions.
- Links within custom messages aren’t clickable by recipients.
- Space owners and collaborators visiting the Space in preview mode will be excluded from the list of potential recipients when logged into DocSend. Visits outside of preview mode will be included in the list of potential recipients.
Community answers
-
Posted by: Theresa 541 days ago
9375
3
-
Posted by: vrovera 900 days ago
11878
12