Create data room groups in Dropbox DocSend
In this article
This article describes a feature available on DocSend Advanced Data Rooms plans.
Creating data room groups
You can share a data room in two ways:
- Groups: Invite specific people and control access through a member list.
- Links: Share access via a link with optional security settings.
Groups provide more control by ensuring only approved members can access the data room. Visitors must be added to the group and authenticate with their email to gain access. Unlike links, which can be shared freely, group invites are sent directly from DocSend to each recipient’s email address. Learn more about the difference between groups and links.
How to create a group
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click Spaces in the left sidebar.
- Click the data room you’re creating a group for.
- Click Share.
- Click Create group.
- Enter a Group name.
- Configure security settings:
- Allow downloading: Let's visitors download content.
- Add watermark: Adds a watermark to documents.
- Require agreement to view: Requires visitors to sign a non-disclosure agreement (NDA) before accessing content.
- Note: These settings apply to the entire data room.
- Click Create group.
After creating a group, you can apply permissions to specific files and folders by clicking (lock a file or folder).
How to invite group members to a Space (data room)
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click Permissions in the left sidebar.
- Click Groups.
- Click Invite.
- Type email addresses.
- Optional: Add a message.
- Click Invite.
Recipients will receive an email invitation to access the data room.
Invite limits may vary for new users and increase over time. If you need higher limits, contact support. On Advanced Data Rooms plans, you can import email addresses using a CSV file.
Group access and authentication
Group access is restricted to invited users only:
- Only users added to the group can access the data room.
- Access requires email authentication, even if the user has the link.
- Changes in group membership (such as which members were invited or removed), can be found in the audit log. Learn more about data room audit logs.
- To help prevent misuse, DocSend uses automated systems to detect suspicious activity. If an account is flagged, the ability to send new group invites or add new members may be restricted, while existing groups can still be managed (for example, removing members or deleting groups).
Edit group settings and permissions
Only owners and collaborators can create and manage groups.
- Group name: You can set and save a unique name to identify your group.
- Allow downloading: Toggle on to allow visitors to download and print all documents inside your Space.
- Add a watermark: Toggle on to overlay a watermark on your documents.
- Require Agreement to view: Toggle on to require members to sign an agreement before viewing content in your Space.
- Send reminder email: Send reminder emails to visitors who haven’t visited the space yet. You can schedule this email to go out at a later date.
- Note: Reminder email activity is tracked in the audit log.
Community answers
-
Posted by: Mosscat 30 days ago
151
6
-
Posted by: Amy 1749 days ago
280263
20
-
Posted by: rubyrogue 2409 days ago
2924
9