How to update your Dropbox and Dropbox Dash billing information
In this article
The information in this article applies to all customers on a paid Dropbox plan.
To update your Dropbox or Dropbox Dash billing information, including your payment method, billing cycle, or billing name and address, follow the instructions for your account type below.
Important: Before you update your billing information, here are a few things you should know:
- If you purchased your Dropbox subscription on a mobile device, you can manage your billing information through Google Play or your Apple Account.
- If you pay by manual invoice or purchased your Dropbox or Dropbox Dash subscription through a reseller, contact support or your account executive to update your billing information.
- If you’re on Dropbox Plus, learn how to change your organization name on a Dropbox invoice.
Dropbox Plus, Professional, Essentials, or Family
Change or update a payment method
Note: If you’re on a Dropbox Family plan, only the Family manager can manage billing information.
To add or remove a payment method, or to change a billing name or address for a Dropbox Plus, Professional, Essentials, or Family account:
- Log in to dropbox.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the bottom-left corner.
- Click Manage account.
- Click Billing in the left sidebar.
- Make your changes:
- To add or remove a payment method, click Update next to Payment Method.
- Click Save changes.
If you’re unable to change your payment method, or there’s no option to do this, check which Dropbox plan you have. The process may be different to the steps described above if you’re not on a Plus, Professional, or Essentials plan.
Change a billing name or address
Note: You can only change your billing name or address if you’re on a Professional or Essentials plan.
To change a billing name or address for a Dropbox Plus, Professional, Essentials, or Family account:
- Log in to dropbox.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the bottom-left corner.
- Click Manage account.
- Click Billing in the left sidebar.
- Click Edit next to your most recent invoice and update your information.
- Click Save changes.
If you’re unable to change your billing name or address by following these steps, check which Dropbox plan you have. The steps required may be different if you’re not on a Professional or Essentials plan.
Switch between monthly and yearly billing cycle
Note: If you’re on a Dropbox Family plan, only the Family manager can manage billing information.
To switch between monthly and yearly billing:
- Log in to dropbox.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the bottom-left corner.
- Click Manage account.
- Select Subscriptions in the left sidebar.
- Click Change next to Billing period.
- Note: The yearly payment cycle begins as soon as you switch from monthly billing.
- Click Confirm.
Any change to your billing date will take effect at the end of your current billing cycle.
Dropbox Standard, Business, Advanced, Business Plus, and Dropbox Dash
Note: Only certain types of admins can manage billing information.
To update billing information for a Dropbox Standard, Business, Advanced, and Business Plus account:
- Log in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
- Click Admin console in the left sidebar.
- Click Billing in the left sidebar.
- Make your changes:
- To add or remove a payment method, scroll to Payment method under Products, then click Update.
- To switch between monthly and yearly billing, scroll to Billing period under Products, then click Switch to monthly or Switch to yearly.
- Note: The yearly payment cycle begins as soon as you switch from monthly billing.
- To change your billing name or address, scroll to Billing address under Products, then click Update.
- Click Save changes.
Any change to your billing date will take effect at the end of your current billing cycle.
Note: This only applies to teams paying by credit card, PayPal, or direct debit. If you pay by manual invoicing, you can only update billing information in the admin console if you’re purchasing additional licenses.
What if no one is listed as an administrator for my Dropbox Standard, Business, Advanced, or Business Plus account?
If the original admin for your Dropbox plan has left the business or is no longer involved, their email address may have been deleted. However, they will still be listed as the team admin for your Dropbox plan.
Try recreating this email account so you can access that inbox. Once you have access, reset the Dropbox password for that account, log in, and set up an existing member of your business as the new team admin. We recommend setting up two admins in case of this scenario in the future.
Dropbox Enterprise and Education
To update billing information for a Dropbox Enterprise or Education account, contact your account executive or Dropbox Support.
Community answers
-
Posted by: Romanos 133 days ago
178
3
-
Posted by: mfalkvidd 407 days ago
4644
17
-
Posted by: Maor91 757 days ago
7747
3
-
Posted by: TaylorKrusen 1005 days ago
16721
39
-
Posted by: datadiscovery 2390 days ago
6461
10