Update existing content in Dropbox DocSend
In this article
This article describes a feature available to all DocSend customers.
Overview
You can easily update content, even if you already shared links to the file. This is especially helpful if you need to correct a typo or make a quick change to a document. You can also refresh files uploaded from Dropbox or Google Drive.
Important: Replacing a file updates it everywhere it’s used, including existing links and Spaces.
Update content from your computer
To update content from your computer:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click Content library in the left sidebar.
- Select the file you want to update.
- Click the Replace icon.
- Click Add file.
- Upload the replacement file.
Note: DocSend won't notify teammates or visitors when a file has been updated.
Update content from a Space
You can preview and replace a file without leaving your Space.
To replace a file from a Space:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Open the Space containing the document.
- Click the file to open a preview.
- Click the Replace icon.
- If the file is used elsewhere, click the dropdown arrows to review where it’s used.
- Click Replace and continue.
- Steps 5 and 6 only appear if the file is used elsewhere.
- Select the file or folder you want to use as the replacement.
- Click Upload.
The new version replaces the file everywhere it’s used, including the Spaces and links shown before upload.
From the preview, you can also:
- Preview the file
- Download the file
- Click View analytics to open the file in the Content library.
Manually refresh content from a cloud drive
Note: Refresh is only available for files stored on Dropbox or Google Drive. Learn more about connected apps.
When you upload a file from Dropbox or Google Drive, you’ll see an option to refresh your content manually. Refreshing syncs your file with the most recent version linked to the cloud.
To manually refresh a file:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click Content library in the left sidebar.
- Select the document you want to refresh.
- Click the Replace icon.
- Click Refresh File.
You'll receive a notification pop-up after your file successfully updates.
Note: Stay on the page when refreshing your document. Leaving the page may interrupt the refresh.
Turn on Auto Sync for a single file
You can turn on Auto Sync to automatically keep your DocSend file up to date with the latest versions stored in your cloud accounts, such as Dropbox or Google Drive.
The sync icon under the file title indicates the sync status:
- Synced with <your cloud storage provider> (cloud with a checkmark inside) shows the date and time of the last sync.
- Not synced with <your cloud storage provider> (cloud with a diagonal line) indicates the file is not synced.
To turn Auto Sync on or off:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click Content library in the left sidebar.
- Select the document you want to update.
- Toggle Synced with <your cloud storage provider> or Not synced with <your cloud storage provider>.
Turn on Auto Sync for all files in your DocSend account
By default, Auto Sync is turned off. You can turn it on for all new files uploaded to DocSend from Dropbox and Google Drive.
To turn on Auto Sync:
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the upper-right corner.
- Click Settings.
- Click Content Options.
- Select Yes from the dropdown menu.
- Click Save changes.
Compare performance across versions
You can compare file versions on the Performance tab. Here, you’ll see the top-viewed pages, total views, average views, and what the document looks like by highlighting any of the points on the graph. When you export your visit data, the version of the file will be specified for each visit.
- Log in to docsend.com.
- Click Content library in the left sidebar.
- Select the file you want to review.
- Click the Performance tab.
Things to consider
- Refresh is only available for content uploaded from a connected cloud storage provider, such as Google Drive or Dropbox.
- Files uploaded from the Dropbox web application to DocSend don't support Refresh.
- Refresh errors may occur if:
- You're logged out of the connected cloud storage account.
- The file has been deleted.
- Access to the file has been revoked.
- For Refresh to work, the file type can't be changed between updates. For example, if you convert an Excel file into a PDF, it will stop syncing.
- Changes made in DocSend, including replacing a file, won’t sync back to Dropbox. Auto Sync only syncs file changes from Dropbox to DocSend.
Community answers
-
Posted by: [Deleted User] 337 days ago
167
4
-
Posted by: Amy 637 days ago
1775
9
-
Posted by: Jayson L. 1391 days ago
28110
125
-
Posted by: jijik 1973 days ago
1650
1
-
Posted by: Continuous I. 4018 days ago
4438
5