How to Auto-Fill fields in Dropbox Sign
In this article
Available on all plans
This feature pulls information from your signers, provided from either their own Dropbox Sign profile or from the name and email address entered in by the requester, and populates the information into the corresponding fields. Auto-fill fields are only able to be assigned to signers.
The fields available for Auto fill are:
- Date Signed
- Name
- Company
- Title
Sending a request to a Dropbox Sign User
When sending to a Dropbox Sign user who has their profile information filled out, you'll simply place the auto-fill fields down in the desired location on your document by selecting them from the Auto-fill Fields section in the left sidebar menu in the editor.
Once the signer opens the request, they'll see those fields already populated with the information they filled out within their Dropbox Sign profile. If they need to make a change to the information, for example, their title at their company has changed but they haven't updated their profile, then the signer will be able to edit the field just like a normal textbox.
Important note: Dropbox Sign will not automatically save any changes signers make to the auto-filled fields to their profile. After the request has been completed and submitted, the signer will get an option to save the changes they made to their profile, as well. On the Thank you for submitting confirmation page, the signer can simply click Go to my profile to be redirected to save the changes they made.
Sending a request to a non-Dropbox Sign user
When sending a request to a non-Dropbox Sign user or a Dropbox Sign user who does not have their profile filled out, the auto-fill fields will only be able to pull the name and email address fields. This information is pulled from the name and email, which were entered by the requester in the Who needs to Sign step. The date field will also auto populate with the current date the signer completes the request.
To use these fields, place them on your document in the desired location while in the editor. Once the signer opens the document, their name and email will be auto filled if those fields are on the request. The company and title fields will not populate with information and the signers will fill them out as normal textboxes. If one or both of these fields are placed on the document more than once, then the duplicate fields will populate as the signer fills out the first field of its kind.
Important note: Dropbox Sign will not automatically save any changes signers make to the auto-filled fields to their profile. After the request has been completed and submitted, the signer will get an option to save the changes they made to their profile, as well. On the Thank you for submitting confirmation page, the signer can simply click Go to my profile to be redirected to save the changes they made.
Community answers
-
Posted by: AngieB 37 days ago
63
0
-
Posted by: Ellina 151 days ago
15
0
-
Posted by: Comanche 190 days ago
96
5
-
Posted by: AS210 219 days ago
102
5
-
Posted by: ambern1023 906 days ago
448
1