Exceeding your storage on Dropbox Basic: FAQs
In this article
The information in this article applies to some Dropbox Basic users.
If you use Dropbox Basic, your account includes 2 GB of free storage space. If your account exceeds this storage limit, restrictions may apply. For example, you may not be able to sync, upload, share, move, or preview files and folders. If your account remains over the limit, Dropbox may delete files you own to bring your account below the storage limit.
Before any files are deleted, you’ll receive email notifications with information about your options. To avoid file deletion, you can delete files you no longer need or upgrade to a plan with more storage space.
How did I get into this state?
Your account may exceed the Dropbox Basic storage limit if:
- You previously had a paid plan, downgraded to the Basic plan, and retained your uploaded data.
- You were part of a team account that was disbanded, or you were removed from a team.
- You were a trial user with aditional storage but didn't upgrade to a paid plan.
- You joined a shared folder that contains files added by other people.
What’s my Dropbox free storage limit?
Dropbox Basic offers 2 GB of starting storage space for free. To find out if you’re over your Dropbox free storage limit quota, check how much storage space you have.
How will my data be deleted?
If your account exceeds the free storage limit for Dropbox Basic, we'll notify you through multiple emails in advance. We’ll begin by deleting your least recently modified files first to bring your account under the limit. Only files you own will be deleted.
Files you’ve downloaded to your desktop or mobile device remain available, even if other files are deleted from your Dropbox account. However, online-only files (placeholders on desktop) and files marked for offline use inside the Dropbox mobile app may be deleted and won’t be automatically saved to your device’s file system. If you want to keep a copy, make sure it's fully downloaded to your device.
The deletion process includes:
- Files and folders that aren't shared with any other users (referred to as "owned" files).
- Backup data.
- Learn how to delete Dropbox Backup.
Additionally, shared folders will be temporarily left based on ownership:
- Shared folders not owned by you will be removed from your directory without deleting contents.
- Shared folders you own will also be removed, allowing other users to maintain access.
Deleted files and folders are moved to the Deleted files tab in the left side panel, for 30 days before permanent removal. Once your account is below the storage limit, or after you upgrade, you can add shared folders back to your account. Permanently deleted files can’t be restored.
How can I avoid the deletion of my data?
Before any deletion occurs, we'll notify you multiple times and provide options to prevent the deletion of your files.
You can:
Note: You can also download your files to your computer before they’re deleted.
How can I restore my data after deletion
If your files have been deleted because your account has exceeded the free storage limit for Dropbox Basic, you can recover your deleted files and folders.
If the recovered files and folders exceed your storage limit, you’ll need to upgrade your account to add more storage. You can also download a local copy of these files and folders (except shared folders). To download a local copy:
- Log in to dropbox.com.
- Click Deleted files in the left sidebar.
- Note: You can use the available filters to find specific deleted files or folders.
- Click on the name of the deleted file or folder you want to recover.
- To select multiple items, use the checkboxes.
- Click Restore.
- Click Download file.
Important: Once you have enough storage, you can recover your deleted files and folders for 30 days after deletion. If you don’t take any action before 30 days, your files and folders will be permanently deleted.
How can I upgrade my Dropbox plan?
To change your plan:
- Log in to dropbox.com.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials).
- Click Settings.
- Click Plan.
- Click Change plan at the bottom of the page.
- Select the plan you want.
- Click Review changes.
- Click Confirm change.
How can I close my account?
What if I have more questions?
If you have another question about the deletion of your data, recovering your deleted files and folders after exceeding your storage limit, or about an email notification you received, you can contact us. To do so:
- Log out of your Dropbox account.
- Navigate to www.dropbox.com/support/login-issue.
- Click Submit a request.
- Complete the form.
- Note: Under Email, enter the email associated with the account you have a question about.
- Click Send.
Please note that most questions can be answered by reading the sections in this article.
Community answers
-
Thousands of personal photos deleted after exceeding storage limit – Please escalate to Dropbox stafPosted by: Makbule 34 days ago
175
4
-
Posted by: accessrobyn 221 days ago
75
2
-
Posted by: Gordon T.1 341 days ago
391
8
-
Posted by: IrisConsultingNE 1397 days ago
2423
7
-
Posted by: Guido 1433 days ago
4492
9