How to move the Dropbox folder to a new location
In this article
The information in this article applies to all Dropbox users.
Important: If you're on Dropbox for macOS on File Provider, you can no longer move the Dropbox folder. Learn more about the changes with the Dropbox for macOS update.
Note: Eligible users on Dropbox for macOS on File Provider can choose to move their Dropbox folder to an external hard drive. Learn more about external drive support for Dropbox for macOS on File Provider.
Notes:
- Dropbox doesn’t support certain types of files and metadata like symlinks, aliases, shortcuts, junction points, resource forks, and networked folders.
- If Dropbox doesn’t support the extended attributes (additional metadata) attached to your files, they’re not stored in Dropbox. Because of this, they won’t move with your Dropbox folder.
- You need some disk space (hard drive space) to move the Dropbox folder. If you’re running low, learn how you can free up disk space.
If you have any trouble with syncing your files after moving the Dropbox folder to a new location on your computer, learn how to fix Dropbox sync issues and startup problems.
Not using Dropbox yet? See how Dropbox helps you effortlessly share folders.
How to move your Dropbox folder
- Close any applications on your computer that may be using your Dropbox files and folders, and disable your computer backup.
- Click ☑ (Dropbox) in the task bar (Windows) or menu bar (Mac).
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the bottom-left corner.
- Click Preferences.
- Click the Sync tab.
- Click Move… (Windows and Linux), or Dropbox location (Mac).
- Select the new location for your Dropbox folder.
- Let Dropbox move your folder and its contents to the new location.
- Log out and back in to the Dropbox desktop app to ensure that all of your preferences are moved as well.
If you’ve linked your Dropbox accounts, you'll see both of your Dropbox accounts listed. Select the correct tab before moving the Dropbox folder location.
Your Dropbox folder will keep the same name as before, and can't be renamed during the move process. Dropbox will not sync your folder if it has been manually renamed or moved through your operating system. If Dropbox loses track of your folder, it will attempt to re-sync the folder in its entirety using its last known location.
How to manually move the Dropbox folder back to its default location
- Close any applications on your computer that may be using your Dropbox files and folders.
- Click ☑ (Dropbox) in the taskbar.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the bottom-left corner.
- Click Preferences.
- Click the Sync tab.
- Under Dropbox Folder Location, click Move.
- In the text box next to Folder:, type “$Home”.
- Click OK.
- You'll be asked to confirm if you wish to move your Dropbox folder location. Click OK.
- Log out and back in to the Dropbox desktop app to ensure that all of your preferences are moved as well.
- Close any applications on your computer that may be using your Dropbox files and folders.
- Click ☑ (Dropbox) in the menu bar.
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials) in the bottom-left corner.
- Click Preferences.
- Click the Sync tab.
- Click the dropdown beside Dropbox location.
- Select Other…
- Open the Applications list.
- Click the Applications dropdown, and select your hard drive.
- Open the Users folder.
- Select your computer username (it will likely have a "home" icon beside it).
- Click Select.
- Confirm the move by clicking Move.
- Log out and back in to the Dropbox desktop app to ensure that all of your preferences are moved as well.
Community answers
-
Posted by: aeneas 67 days ago
311
9
-
Posted by: shoeb ikhlas 227 days ago
2360
19
-
Posted by: jjwithers 252 days ago
238
2
-
Posted by: osiris jorge p. 1355 days ago
1737
7
-
Posted by: jasonnaylor 2215 days ago
4598
5